LOADING

Lie Dil

Uncategorized
Oct 15th, 2016

It was at the South Vintage Festival and at the vintage wedding fair organized by Toi et Moi last year that I met this designer from Aix-en-Provence, and I’ve had a huge crush on her work ever since. Aurélie invited me into her workshop located at the very heart of this southern city to talk about her career and the brand she created in 2014, Lie Dil.

accd02You are about to get married and you know exactly what you want for your wedding dress, but can’t find it anywhere? Or maybe you have no precise idea of what you want, but know what you don’t, and wish for a dress made for you? Look no further, the solution is here: Lie Dil!

Lie Dil makes tailor-made, personalized wedding dresses, and the designer will be able to make your wildest dreams come true. Getting married is a very important event, a deep bonding experience that is only celebrated once in a lifetime, one day that will stand out forever. It is therefore perfectly normal to wish for a very special dress for this very special day, a dress made for you and only you, a unique dress. If that is truly your wish, then Lie Dil is the place to go.

Aurélie has had a remarkable career, one could say she is a “fashion doctor”, as she spent six years studying for it. After spending a year in Applied Arts at the Duperré school, she undertook a DMA in Costumes, where she learned how to create historical stage garb (for theatre plays, the opera, movies…) and she was a trainee in the Lyrical Art Festival of Aix-en-Provence. She “loved this formation”, especially “creating an outfit reflecting the story and personality of a character”. This is how she first came up with the idea of creating tailor-made wedding dresses for a living: she likes nothing more than to imagine and produce an outfit that fits the person wearing it.

st-lie-dil-2-90

I visited her workshop and felt in love with EVERYTHING!

Being hungry for knowledge, she then entered a Master of Fashion Creator at the Atelier Chardon Savard, where she learned how to create a collection both personal and coherent as a whole, in a high fashion runway style. Stressing creativity in modern fashion, it was very different from her DMA where she studied historical techniques. It was “a very rewarding experience, we could give our imagination a free rein, the only limits being our own creativity and personal preferences”. But she missed being able to make personalized outfits: “exchanging with the person, the story the garb would tell”. These two training courses gave the designer a solid background based on a unique mix born from both past traditions and modern techniques, complementing each other to perfection.

But she did not stop there and continued with a Master in Fashion Marketing, so as to acquire a solid knowledge in business, brand identity, visual merchandising… Such commercial techniques as “plan and develop one’s own brand” for example were very useful: indeed, each brand has its own identity, image, story and codes. Aurélie was very taken with this subject, and used this knowledge when she created her own brand. She worked for a time as a visual merchandiser, but soon came to miss the real creation of dressmaking.

Besides, she had left Paris to come to Aix-en-Provence while still a visual merchandiser: she had fallen in love with this city during her internship at the Lyrical Art Festival some years before, even then thinking that it was “the perfect city in which to open a tailor-made wedding dress shop” – she always thought her workshop would not be born in the capital.

After quitting her job in 2014, she fumbled for a time with the creation of her own brand: she developped its concept, created its image and logo, and realized her first creations. This trial year proved that she was “able to understand her clients’ expectation and bring them to life”. She then spent a lot of her time expending her professional network, using “collaborations with other professionals from the wedding industry, where photographers, florists, interior designers, jewellers, makeup artists and hair stylists worked together to stage inspirational series of photographs” in order to showcase their work.

byo09

Aurélie will take the time to welcome you into her workshop, and also share with you her portfolio of professionals, all of them united by the same values of a thoughtful and personnalized service – they will be a great addition to your wedding-dedicated address book! More than anything, she likes to “spend time with her clients in order to create the dress that suits them”. Your dream dress can become a reality! You will discover everything on my blog with a storytelling series, the first episode “Storytelling: creations in the making” coming Saturday October 22th.

Contact her to get an appointment and meet her at: 

Lie Dil
40 bis rue Victor Leydet
13100 Aix en Provence

Find her:

Website

Instagram

Facebook

Credit photos:  Workshop : Nella Fragola; Inspiration shootings: Denis Dalmasso; Caroline Feraud, Fred Bruneau, Ludovic Authier, By Oriane and Colas Declercq.
LEAVE A REPLY

J'arrive !

Lie Dil

Non classé
Oct 15th, 2016

Rencontrée au South Vintage Festival et au salon du mariage vintage organisé par Toi et Moi l’année dernière, j’ai depuis un gros coup de cœur pour cette créatrice aixoise. Aurélie m’a accueillie dans son atelier en plein cœur d’Aix-en-Provence pour me parler de son parcours et de sa marque Lie Dil créée en 2014.

accd02Vous allez vous marier et vous avez en tête la robe de vos rêves mais vous ne trouvez pas votre bonheur dans les boutiques ? Peut-être faites-vous au contraire parties de celles qui ne savent pas ce que porter tout en espérant avoir une robe à son image ? Ne cherchez plus, j’ai une solution pour vous : Lie Dil !

 Lie Dil est une marque de robe de mariée sur-mesure et personnalisée dont la créatrice n’a qu’un objectif : répondre à vos souhaits les plus fous. Un mariage est toujours un événement important dans nos vies, un engagement profond que nous ne célébrons qu’une seule fois et qui se résume à une seule journée dans sa vie. Il est tout à fait légitime de désirer une robe spéciale pour ce jour-là. Imaginez maintenant la possibilité d’avoir une robe faite pour vous et uniquement pour vous. Une robe vraiment unique. Et si c’est ce que vous voulez, alors vous frapper à la bonne porte chez Lie Dil.

Aurélie a un parcours remarquable : on peut même dire qu’elle a fait « médecine en mode », soit six années d’études. Après une année en Arts Appliqués à l’école Duperré, elle a préparé le Diplôme des Métiers d’arts en Costume où elle a appris à créer des pièces historiques pour la scène (théâtre, opéra, cinéma…) et a effectué un stage sur le   Festival d’Art Lyrique d’Aix-en-Provence. Elle a « adoré cette formation », ce qu’elle préférerait était « d’avoir à imaginer la tenue par rapport au caractère et à l’histoire d’un personnage ». C’est ainsi que l’idée d’ouvrir un jour un atelier de robes de mariées sur mesure lui est venue : rien ne l’enchante plus que de confectionner un vêtement à l’image de la personne qui doit le porter.

st-lie-dil-2-90

J’ai visité son atelier et je l’ai adoré !

Sa soif de connaissance l’a amenée à entrer en Master de Créateur de Mode à l’Atelier Chardon Savard où elle a appris à développer une collection personnelle et cohérente dans son ensemble, sur un esprit défilé Haute Couture ; très accès sur la créativité dans la mode actuelle à l’opposé de son DMA où elle a travaillé sur des techniques historiques. Ce fut « très enrichissant, on pouvait tout imaginer, notre seule limite était notre créativité et nos envies personnelles ». Cependant, le côté personnalisé du vêtement lui manquait : « l’échange avec la personne, l’histoire contée par le vêtement ». Ces deux formations en ont apporté à la créatrice une vraie valeur ajoutée à son parcours en lui permettant d’aborder un panel de techniques variées avec une vraie complémentarité entre la mode actuelle et les lignes du passé.

Si vous pensez qu’Aurélie s’est arrêtée là dans ses études, alors détrompez-vous : elle a enchainé avec un Master en Marketing de Mode afin d’acquérir des connaissances en business, identité de marque, visual merchandiser… Elle y a assimilé de nombreuses techniques commerciales comme « penser et développer sa marque ». En effet, chaque marque possède son identité, son image, son histoire et ses codes. Aurélie a été passionnée par le sujet et les connaissances acquises lors de ce diplôme l’a aidée lors de la création de sa marque. Elle a travaillé en tant que visual merchandiser. Cependant, la création et la couture lui ont vite manqué.

C’est d’ailleurs pour un job de visual merchandiser qu’elle a quitté Paris pour Aix-en-Provence. Elle était déjà tombée amoureuse de la ville lors de son stage au Festival d’Art Lyrique quelques années plutôt : elle s’était même dit « que c’était la ville parfaite pour ouvrir un atelier de robe de mariées sur mesure », ayant toujours imaginé lancer son atelier en province.

Après avoir quitté son emploi en 2014, elle tâtonne alors sur la création de son atelier : elle développe le concept de sa marque, cherche son image et son logo, réalise ses premières commandes. Cette année test lui prouve alors qu’elle est « capable de comprendre les attentes de ses clientes et de les réaliser ». Elle passe alors beaucoup de temps à développer son réseau professionnel par le biais notamment de « collaborations avec d’autres acteurs et artisans du milieu du mariage où photographes, fleuristes, décorateurs, bijoutiers, maquilleurs et coiffeurs travaillent ensemble à la mise en scène de photographies d’inspirations » afin de mettre en avant leurs compétences.

byo09

Aurélie prendra le temps de vous accueillir dans son atelier (adresse ou lien) où vous pourrez également trouver les différents prestataires avec lesquels elle partage la même volonté d’un travail attentionné : votre carnet d’adresses de bons plans spécial mariage sera vite rempli ! Elle aime plus que tout « prendre le temps avec ses clientes afin de confectionner la robe qui leur ressemble ». La robe de vos rêves peut devenir réalité. Ce que vous allez découvrir très prochainement sur le blog avec mon premier épisode « Storytelling : les dessous de la créations », à partir du samedi 22 octobre.

Visite de l’atelier sur endez-vous : 

Lie Dil
40 bis rue Victor Leydet
13100 Aix en Provence

Find her:

Website

Instagram

Facebook

Credit photos:  Atelier : Nella Fragola; Inspiration shootings: Denis Dalmasso; Caroline Feraud, Fred Bruneau, Ludovic Authier, By Oriane and Colas Declercq.
Votre Commentaire